top of page

My birth control is better than yours

Updated: Feb 17, 2021


There are many reasons why I have never decided to jump on board with the pressure of taking "the pill". First, my doctors have always warned me of my higher risk of deadly blood cloths if I take these. If you have an autoimmune diagnosis such as Lupus, I strongly recommend you talk to multiple health care providers about the possible side effects before you decide to try these. Second, all of us with menstrual pain have been there, sitting in that OB-GYN doctors office and the first response is you should take birth control. More and more doctors are advocating that taking these type of hormonal treatments will only mask your problems and they can get worse and worse with time. Third, the more and more I researched and analyzed why I should follow my intuition, more research has shown how non-natural birth control have a very scary side to them. Some of them have been linked to infertility and even deadly side effects. Here is a link to my favorite doctor's article talking about some of these. LINK


"OK Doc, so what can I do to prevent babies?" As a female doctor, I'm a pro safe and healthy sex advocate. I want you to have sex with a partners whose energy is healthy for you and a partner that is on the same page of safe sex. So, here are my methods:



  1. Fertility calendar app: I've used the Flo App for more than 3 years now. The more you use this app, the more it will get "to know you". It's so beautiful getting to know your body deep enough to know when you are ovulating and even when your period is coming. You could use this to track the days that you want to abstain from sex or use protection to prevent having a cutie human. AND the best part of this is that when you are ready to have a baby, you already have this amazing app synced with your body to help track your fertile days.

2. Condoms: Yes, old school is back to cool. Before you tell me that you are allergic to latex or just feel uncomfortable with condoms, I recommend you try these. Old school condoms had the most toxic ingredients for your Vaginal organ. Now there are more and more clean brands that advocate for safe ingredients. I recommend condoms first to lower risk of STI's, prevent unplanned pregnancies, lower chances of UTI's and other infections and keep up with a balanced PH of your vagina. Here are my favorite condoms free of Nitrosamines, natural latex and FDA approved. This company cares about your Vagina more than many other companies. Before your partner says they are uncomfortable, tell them that this company has different sizes, they have an ultra thin one (yay), and just tell them to grow up. Many men around the world are having amazing safe sex without any complaints. They are so blessed to have you as their partner, with or without condoms.


Another brand with clean ingredients that I love: LOLA


Enjoy your safe, healthy, balanced, amazing sex!

Natalia Canchaney Brownley, DC

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page